Skip to content


The school introduced a new curriculum in September 2014 which encompasses the new national primary curriculum and the requirements for the early years. The school curriculum comprises all learning and other experiences that school plans for its pupils. The national curriculum forms one part of the school curriculum. The curriculum comprises the core subjects of:
• English
• Mathematics
• Science
and the foundation subjects.
• Art and design
• Computing
• Design and technology
• Languages
• Geography
• History
• Music
• Physical Education

Religious Education

All schools are also required to teach religious education – Orchard follows the scheme of work set by Hertfordshire. Every state-funded school must offer a curriculum which is balanced and broadly based and which:
• promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils at the school and of society
• prepares pupils at the school for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life and
• prepares pupils for life in modern day Britain, learning about British values.

British Values

The school takes opportunities to promote British Values, defined by the government as the following:
• democracy
• the rule of law
• individual liberty
• mutual respect
• tolerance of those of different faiths and beliefs
In actively promoting British Values, we will also focus on, and be able to show how our work with pupils is effective in, embedding fundamental British values. Actively promoting also means challenging pupils, staff or parents expressing opinions contrary to fundamental British Values, including ‘extremist’ views.

Skip to content